God, I don’t understand…

Have you ever been completely confused?  You cannot make sense of why God seemingly is standing by and does not hear your cries.  Why is He allowing your family too do without?  Why can your not get a decent job?  You cry out, “God, I am not asking for much?  Why?  I don’t understand!”

I have been there.  Probably will again.  Sometimes as time goes by, we may be able too see why God chose to go the way He did.  Sometimes we may never understand.  When we think we get it we are probably still missing the mark.  We cannot set the entire picture from where we stand.  We must trust that regardless of how it seems He is there, He does hear your cries, He does care.  Even when it hurts so much and you feel so alone you have to make yourself trust that Him no matter what.  We each have to do that during the hard times.  We all have them. 

Job 37:5-6
God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. He says to the snow, ‘Fall on the earth,’ and to the rain shower, ‘Be a mighty downpour.’

Commentary
There is rest and comfort to be found in that God “does great things beyond our understanding” (NIV, NET). The NLT says, “We can’t even imagine the greatness of his power”. I find refuge in this because sometimes in life, things worse than we can imagine happen to us, or we find ourselves wanting to stand firm against “impossible” odds. This kind of situation is the perfect stage for God to show up and display His authority, and the extent of His truly amazing grace. Take heart, He loves you and wants to be with you.

Verse/Commentary courtesy of ‘Verse-A-Day’ android app.
http://www.verse-a-day.com/Apps

4 thoughts on “God, I don’t understand…

  1. I believe some things he doesn’t control. They happen because of free will. We all know mankind is capable of both extreme good and extreme evil because of it.

    We have to keep faith that he will see us through and understand he doesn’t cause this. He doesn’t cause his children to suffer nor “allow” such either. He does however allow us free will and when we turn from him, question him no good can come from that.

    Remember he is there and working for you. Perhaps this period of unemployment is a chance to examine your life and see how god fits into it. Is he the center as he should be or is he some outer corner hidden and buried.

    God did not make the men who beat me near to death and gang raped me do this. No their free will caused this evil. His mercy spared my life and his love heals me. He is not a mean or evil god who enjoys our suffering.

    So should you find yourself questioning again take it as a moment to refocus your life. Push god back to the center and from there allow him to guide you to HIS path. I promise it will be an interesting and eye opening experience.

    Amen and god bless.

    Like

    • Thank for your comments and voicing your views.
      I am not unemployed (did not want you to think that).
      I was simply writing from a perspective of what some reasons people might question God.
      That being said, I have had times when I did not understand things at the time. I also agree with evil and free will. I also believe that if we lay ourselves before Him and trust Him that He will ALLOW things to happen. I understand that some people do not agree with that. That is ok. We can still respect each other’s thoughts. In Job God allowed Satan to do certain things in Jobs life. God removed the hedge of protection from around him. God has control. Now in Romans 8:28 it says God works all things to the good for them that love Him and are called according to His purpose.

      I say this to also say that while we have free will and choose to do bad things and for those we have consequences for those actions. Sometimes the bad things done by bad people are done to good people and they get hurt. Romans 8:28 can come in here. I was in an abusive relationship. My choice. Wrong choice. Here Romans 8:28 came into play, I turned back to The Lord and relied on Him. He showed me how to use this bad thing for something good. Because of what happened to me I was able to have a compassion for women in abusive homes. I started working for the battered women’s shelter. I worked the phone hotlines. I was able to turn the bad thing and use it in a way that prior to this thing in my life I could not understand why women put up with that. Now I understand the whole cycle.

      One more thing to consider is that God never promised that following Him would be easy, a life without trouble or sorrow. He promised us we WOULD have this. If people became Christians and they all led perfect lives after that then, well I would not be the person I am. I know some that have had those lives. They are amazed at the ways God can use me because of my trials, sometimes my bad choices and sometimes not. I do not believe we have a mean or evil God. I believe we have a very loving God.

      Without these bad things I would not have a passion to help others. I would not be me. I am thankful for every thing that has not been great because He is the potter and I the clay. Love you girl!

      Like

      • Ah but that is him taking the bad and turning it to good. He didn’t cause nor allow the bad in your life but he brings all the good when we allow it. Trust me I questioned god more than once in the past 15 years. I even cursed him. But our god is so great he does not hear the curse because he is to busy feeling the pain. Yes we may have opposing view points but he’s the same god. His greatness couldn’t be understood by any only our own interpretation of him. /hugs and blessing sister hugs and blessings

        Like

      • I agree…his love for us is amazing and we could not love without him first loving us! Hugs and blessings to you sister!

        Like

Leave a Reply

