Is He the Reason for You?

1 Peter 3:10-11
For, “whoever would love life and see good days must keep their tongue from evil and their lips from deceitful speech.  They must turn from evil and do good; they must seek peace and pursue it.

You know, it never fails that this time of year is the worst for me. I am so sad and sickened by what I see around me. The stores have Christmas decorations out before they even get the Halloween crap out. Black Friday you have people fighting over things, trampling over each other. Then let’s not forget about the children who are being raised to want….want….want and it is still not enough. You know I must say that if you are a true believer in Christ this has to upset you. Right? I have to ask the question. Do you think Jesus is bothered by it? Do you think He is impressed by it? Some will say, well we do good things for others and make sure they have good Christmas’s, so that would be pleasing to God. In the bible God says in 2 Corinthians 9:7 each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.
I interpret that to mean we should be doing that all the time instead of making it our excuse for “over giving” Christmas presents to our family and friends. You cannot hide behind that as an excuse to shop till you drop and spend more than really have. So, yes, it saddens me. The entire USA goes nuts, including those who haven’t a care in the world that the holiday is about Christ. So many may not even know, and for more reasons than I can list.

I have to put all that aside. Yes I grieve deep in my soul over it but I must still find a way to be happy. To be a light in the darkness. So, I will now turn to another verse.

Psalm 51:12
Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

He is the reason for my salvation, He is the reason for my peace, He is the reason for everything. HE IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON. My King of Kings! My Lord of Lords! My God!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

