Looking at the Past-Thinking about the Future

Jesus warns us about the future. He tells us it be great distress, unequaled from the beginning of the world until now.

When I think of that it honestly is a little frightening. There has been a lot of really bad stuff that I cannot conceive of.

The holocaust was one event that breaks my heart. Some of our younger generation has no clue as to what it even was. When we allow people to forget we will allow it to repeat.

20140531-211222-76342647.jpg

20140531-211222-76342999.jpg

20140531-211223-76343125.jpg

20140531-211222-76342864.jpg

I can still remember where I was and exactly what I was doing on a what appeared to be a normal day in September. Most people I know can also. My oldest son had just finished up boot camp from the Navy a few months before. I think I was in disbelief when I first heard. This cannot happen in America. We are protected. We are safe. This kind of thing only happens in other parts of the world…right?

20140531-211938-76778623.jpg

20140531-211938-76778967.jpg

Then we have the wrath of a powerful tornado! Just a storm. I had grown up right in tornado alley. Saw many warnings in my life time. Seems lately they have been just a little meaner. A little bigger. A little more powerful. My husband and I had the opportunity to go to Joplin Missouri to help others in the cleanup effort after they were about wiped off the face of the earth. As we drove into that town it was overwhelming. Not even sure what words I could possibly use to describe it. Mattresses were ripped in shreds and literally twisted in the tops of trees. We were with a group of about 15 people working in ONE yard. Sorting through the debris only in the yard. Wood, fiberglass, plastic and metal each with its own pile. I cannot tell you how crazy it is to realize a tornado can rip EVERYTHING in its path into tiny pieces. It was devastating to me just looking at the total destruction and yet I was only there for a day. I got to drive back to my home and bed and my life goes on. I wonder if they have their lives put back to something resembling normalcy? If they lost a loved one, well we know you can’t just rebuild that.

20140531-214309-78189126.jpg

20140531-214309-78189679.jpg

Jesus says….

Matthew 24:21, 25
21-For then there will be great distress, unequaled from the beginning of the world until now—and never to be equaled again.

25-See, I have told you ahead of time.

So my question is…
“Can your mind even imagine what kind of wrath will be poured out on the day The Lord returns?”

Are you prepared? Spiritually speaking that is. It in be a sobering thought. If you wait until you see the the destruction falling down around you and then cry out to The Lord, I am afraid it just might be too late. Don’t put it off another minute. If you do not know The Lord then cry out to Him and ask for help. He will lead you, His arms are open and waiting now.

Leave a Reply

