Living in Fear…..

These are the craziest days I have lived in! I have lived in fear before, but today, in this world, it is a NEW sort of fear. Everyday it is something new! This morning on my way to church I found my mind drifting yet again to the trouble of this world and then suddenly the verses below came to mind. Again, I had great peace.

LUKE 8:22-25
Jesus Calms the Storm
22 One day Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s go over to the other side of the lake.” So they got into a boat and set out. 23 As they sailed, he fell asleep. A squall came down on the lake, so that the boat was being swamped, and they were in great danger.

24 The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!” He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm. 25 “Where is your faith?” he asked his disciples. In fear and amazement they asked one another, “Who is this? He commands even the winds and the water, and they obey him.”

My thoughts…

I heard a teacher once point out that in verse 22 Jesus did not tell the disciples to go it alone. Jesus said, LET’S go over to the other side of the lake. In my mind this is a very important nugget! I think sometimes watching the world news can be frightening but we need to be aware of what is going on. We must always watch so we are not caught off guard. It is important to know that we may just now be seeing things happening but the storm is not surprising The Lord. He knows everything. He never has to say…”WOW, I did not see that coming so I guess I will go to plan B.”

So if you feel yourself feeling anxious because the world is getting out of control just remember that YOU never had control of any of it to begin with! Remember that we never have to go it alone. Have faith in the ONLY ONE we can ever truly count on.

Much love….

Leave a Reply

