We Failed in America

I think it is safe to say that America has failed greatly in following Deuteronomy 6:6-7.  I am sure my grandmother must have felt that way when she was still living.  She was a devout Christian woman.  At least everything I remember about her.  I so wish she were here now so I could converse with her.  Someone who I could learn a great deal from.  You see it doesn’t happen overnight.  My dad was raised in a very Christian family.  Perfect?  I didn’t say that.  Not one family is.   Apparently when my dad started his family he didn’t want to live the way he was raised.  He was a good guy!  Everyone loved him.  He had morals.  He was honest.  He was a hard worker.  He was a man with integrity.  Was he saved?  I don’t think I can honestly say yes or no. I know if I had to judge based on his language and the fact I cannot ever recall him talking about God unless he was using it as a curse word. I hate that. Sad thing is that I grew up and did the same.  I lived it and after all it is like all the other curse words right?  WRONG!  I hate hearing anyone do that now. I cannot stand it.  It hurts my spirit and causes great distress to hear it!  I am so thankful that it does.  So, back to my dad.  I hope that when he sat down on the couch early on that morning when his heart began racing so fast that it finally quit.  I hope that in the panic he had to have felt in those last few minutes he was alive and sitting there alone,  I hope he cried out to God and asked for forgiveness and accepted Jesus. I can only hope.
Now, everyone always seems to say, “they are now in a better place, they are in Heaven “. I don’t think this is true,  everyone wants to make everyone feel better.  Shouldn’t the truth be told?  Again,  we have hope that people at some point had that talk and opened their hearts at that last minute.  So, my grandmother passed 6 months or so after my dad.  The Lord really opened my eyes.  You see, I knew my grandmother loved the Lord with EVERYTHING she had. She longed to go be with the Lord.  When she passed and people said”she is in a better place now”, it felt different.   Why? Because I knew she really was!  It began to hit me hard when I reflected back on my dad.  Was he in Heaven?   You see, I  don’t know if he is but I feel very confident that my grandmother is!  I decided then that I wanted to live a life so that my children would have that confidence of where I was and not have to wonder or that people might just say the normal saying just so everyone feels better. I felt joy for my grandmother and that was so different than my dad.  Read this scripture and ask yourself if America has passed or failed.  How long before our Father in Heaven says ENOUGH?

Deuteronomy 6:6-7
These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.
Commentary
The family unit is purposed to instruct every generation about God. Make no mistake – it is not only the responsibility of your church to educate and impart the knowledge and person of Jesus Christ to your children. It is first and foremost the responsibility of the family. If families fail at this task, future generations will gradually forget about God, and smaller becomes the opportunity for them to be saved. Remember the Lord, and what He has done!

Verse/Commentary courtesy of ‘Verse-A-Day’

ONE MORE THING. …
I didn’t grow up in a family where they taught me about the Lord and His ways and I rarely went to a church service with an aunt or babysitter.  I didn’t really even know my grandmother but she made sure I had a bible.  I grew up knowing she loved the Lord even though I didn’t know much more than that.  Her actions were clear and were examples. Even if you didn’t have that family that taught you and you don’t think you can understand the Word of God,  think again.  God stood at my heart waiting to be asked in. He will do the same for you.  Ask Him.  He will be true to HIS promises.  He will teach you as you truly seek Him.  Give Him a try. He won’t let you down.  I pray if you have not yet, that you will not let another second go by without making Him, Jesus Christ your Savior. We don’t know when our last day will be.  We each choose our destination, please don’t make it be one you regret.

3 thoughts on “We Failed in America

  1. Angela Wittman says:

    Thanks for sharing! Praise the Lord for your Grandmother. I also was raised in a home where Christianity wasn’t practiced, but I had a godly grandmother who taught be about the love of Christ from a very early age. Your post brings her memory to mind and I’m grateful. May the good Lord bless you and your loved ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the comment. I am glad you had the memories to look back on. I know it was by the grace of God my life changed. I didn’t have the opportunity to spend time with her because mom and dad were only there for a hour or two. It is amazing how I still knew. I think I also saw clearly how mom and dad would act differently when around them. I believe prayer changes everything and I believe my grandmother had to have prayed for me and my half brothers. Out of 3 hours 2 of us are radically different. Praise God! Thank him for praying people. I have hope too…I can pray for my grand children who don’t know me but by prayer and faith I know God will lead them. God bless you sister

      Liked by 1 person

      • Angela Wittman says:

        I’ll be praying for your grandchildren, too. 🙂 Yes, it’s amazing how the good Lord uses praying Grandma’s. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

