Overcomer – Are We?

image

So what does the word of God say about being an overcomer?
There are several instances it is used but I an going to go straight to 1st John who tells us how we become overcomers.  The verses following that passage tell us about the rewards of being overcomers.

1st John 5
5 Who is the one that overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?  6 This is the One who came by water and blood, Jesus Christ;  not with the water only,  but with the water and with the blood.  It is the Spirit who testifies,  because the Spirit is the truth.   7 For there are three that testify: the Spirit and the water and the blood. (I suggest you continue reading the rest of the chapter.)

Revelation 2:7
He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.

Revelation 2:17
He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.

Revelation 2:26
And he that overcometh, and keepeth my works unto the end, to him will I give power over the nations:

Revelation 3:5
He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.

Revelation 3:12
Him that overcometh will I make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he shall go no more out: and I will write upon him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, which is new Jerusalem, which cometh down out of heaven from my God: and I will write upon him my new name.

Revelation 3:21
To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.

Revelation 12:10-12
And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death. Therefore rejoice, ye heavens, and ye that dwell in them. Woe to the inhabiters of the earth and of the sea! for the devil is come down unto you, having great wrath, because he knoweth that he hath but a short time.

Revelation 21:7
He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son.

REVELATION  21:8
(WARNING) But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.

Let’s pray…
Dear Father in Heaven,  my God,  my King,  you are worthy to be worshipped and praised and exalted in all the earth and the universe.
I  pray Lord God that You might have mercy upon your children and that your grace might be poured out over us even though we are not deserving of it. We humbly ask you to help each of us in these last days. We are weak but in Your mighty strength we can continue on toward the goal You have set before us. Lord, You know each of our weaknesses in this flesh we currently dwell in,  so please help us Lord, help us not to fear, help us to stand courageously for Your names sake. Help us to boldly testify to Your goodness and Your word and Your truth and the salvation that only comes from Your Son Jesus Christ . Help us that we might share the gospel of Jesus Christ without fear of man.  We ask that You would do this supernaturally by the Holy Spirit because we left to ourselves will surely fail.
We ask all these things for Your glory and we give thanks in every circumstance and praise Your most holy name. In the name of Jesus we pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

