Desires of the Flesh

Anyone else have these issues or is it just me that struggles with sin?  I hate it!  I sometimes think if I only didn’t have to work in a corporate office setting where my stress level hoes through the roof almost daily and even more so in the last year.  My drive in to the office is great.  I’m spending time with the Lord and trying to spiritually prepare for the war on the front lines.  Yet, it seems during the first 2 to 3 hours of battle I end up shot and then before you know it I am complaining and irritable and tense.  Then the guilt sets in.  I try to encourage others all the while I am failing miserably myself.  I pray constantly and drive home as a wounded soldier.  Bloody, exhausted and disappointed in my fighting ability.   I then feel that the Lord must be disappointed in me also.  I want to withdraw as my husband doesn’t want to hear (nor should I drag it out anyway), but it would be great if he would get the bible out and comfort me with words from the Lord.  Instead I have to go to another room read on my own and then I feel guilty for not spending any time with him and feel we grow further apart.  If only I could have a different job?  Ha, maybe I  am at this place as a test?  I  know the Lord knows my struggles and I  pray He helps me to breakthrough this wall that seems to be blocking my walk in more righteousness.   Not that I have my own righteousness but the walk that is only found in Him.

Romans 6:12-14
Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires.  Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.  For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace.

COMMENTARY
Some of us need to declare war on how we make choices. This is particularly true if you find yourself making decisions that lead you into sin. We should be offering our bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God. (Romans 12:1 paraphrased) You will always have a choice of whether to trust the lies that lead to sin, or trust in Christ who leads to life. Our lives will reflect the path we choose to act on. Let right motives, thoughts, and actions be born from your faith. Do not give up on living for Jesus; He isn’t giving up on you.

Verse/Commentary courtesy of ‘Verse-A-Day’ android app.
http://www.verse-a-day.com/Apps

Leave a Reply

