Fun and Games – No Harm Meant – RIGHT?

3 scriptures to ponder on.
I have then added more verses showing what can happen and happens often if not careful.  (Ok, so now I added even more, but packed full of truth most of us can USE!)

Proverbs 15:23
A man hath joy by the answer of his mouth:
And a word spoken in due season, how good is it!

Isaiah 50:4
The Lord God hath given me the tongue of the learned,
That I should know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary:
He wakeneth morning by morning,
He wakeneth mine ear to hear as the learned.

Proverbs 25:11
A word fitly spoken
Is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.  (Some versions say apples of gold in a setting of silver.)

______________________________________
Our words can build up a person or rip them to shreds.
The following verses have remarkable wisdom. Oh, if I might live every day living with these words at the front of my mind.  I  am on vacation this week and it is so much easier to speak with kindness.  When at work I can so easily get caught up in many things I shouldn’t.  I  have learned fairly well how to avoid the chatter when people begin talking about others.  I can turn and walk away or turn around and get back to that which I am being paid to do.
I  sometimes become so witty that I can’t control myself.   My mouth, (all in fun) will join in a conversation that my ears just happen to hear while working!  Sarcasm!   I know I first fell in love with it many years ago watching Seinfeld!   I  rarely watch ANY TV these days as I see it is an absolute waste of time. I must admit I loved that show.  They could talk about nothing and it would be hilarious. I am thinking mainly due to all the sarcasm.

Sarcasm can be fun banter between friends but often even in fun it can cross the line from fun to offense and rather quickly.
That being said, I  have found myself in the last couple of years trying to stop myself at work.   I will be chiming into a conversation at work with amazing humor.  Or is it really?  Most in that circle would say yes but the thing is that normally sarcasm wouldn’t be funny to someone.  That someone is rarely going to hear the banter or maybe they do and even they laugh on the outside but on the inside feel something quite different.  I usually have to stop myself after I have started. I  pray I get better at stopping myself BEFORE I get started with the first utterance.  I have a few times.  I suppose like with many things, that realizing you have a problem is the first step to correcting that.  We all need a laugh every so often.  I maybe could work on remembering jokes. My brother is a great teller of jokes….good and clean jokes. I  don’t seem to remember any and if I  do I have butchered them to the point they simply are not even funny anymore.   Lol

Warnings from the word of God.
James 3:2-18
For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body. Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell. For every kind of beasts, and of birds, and of serpents, and of things in the sea, is tamed, and hath been tamed of mankind: But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be. Doth a fountain send forth at the same place sweet water and bitter? Can the fig tree, my brethren, bear olive berries? either a vine, figs? so can no fountain both yield salt water and fresh.
Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? let him shew out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom. But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descendeth not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.

I go back to work next week and I pray I keep these words at the front of my mind and that my words will be filled with wisdom and speak encouragement and life if they speak anything at all.

God bless all my brothers and sisters in Christ Jesus.
May grace and peace from our Father in Heaven be upon you all.
I will end with the verses from
Jude 24 & 25
Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, to the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.

6 thoughts on “Fun and Games – No Harm Meant – RIGHT?

  1. Nicely done πŸ™‚ I have a very fast mouth, and I developed skill at sarcasm in response to someone who loved pushing my buttons when we were both young. It’s a habit I had to break, so I can empathize πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can tell you that I have gotten better on most days but still have to remind myself often…(you really don’t need to say that). I carry around in my pocket a folded piece of paper with this verse on it.

      Matthew 5:37 37But let your communication be, Yea, yea; Nay, nay: for whatsoever is more than these cometh of evil.

      When I get home I pull it out and lay it on the counter and the next morning I put it back into my pocket as I head out the door for work. You know it is hard because often I feel like people think…she will never talk to us. What the reality is that most of it is nothing good so why speak? I don’t want to join in on talk of TV shows I don’t watch. I don’t want to sit and talk about so much that is nothing. Start talking much about our Jesus Christ and people get mad and offended by that too. So, better to keep my mouth shut. :o)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amen, yes you are!
        I have felt that in my department I was with like minded sisters with the exception of two who are not really believers and they just don’t get it and that is obvious to see. 5 of us decided to do a bible study at work. We would study and break down verses and then one day a week at lunch we would get together and discuss the scriptures. The first book we did was Jude. It took several weeks as we would go verse by verse and so we would take verses 1-4 in week one. Then we decided to go through Hebrews 11 with the topical study on faith. You know all of the directions and people you can discuss in that chapter.

        One morning I heard something on the radio as I was going into work. It was about a police department in Arkansas that was putting Mathew 5:9 on their police cars and they had it on one at that time and the mayor said it was ok and they could do it. This was during a huge time of Islam arguments so the fact that they were able to do this was amazing! I got to work and found the article the radio station was reading from. I sent an email to our study group as an encouragement and I had other verses included. I was so uplifted in my spirit and knew they would be also.
        NOT. Ended up with emails shooting back and forth. One said it wasn’t good because if you were a budist how would you feel and it just kept going on. I was in shock. Turns out that girl said she believed we all believe in the same God but go about it a different way. I thought how on earth have we been studying together and reading the same bible and not know the one next to you doesn’t believe John 14:6…Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life : no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.
        Now I have found that her church is good with homosexuals and everything else. I think they also have all faiths come together. I told my close friend, “I don’t understand how you can read the same bible and miss Jesus Christ? ” The verse from my study of Jude that just went deep in my mind was verse 4. I think God was showing me how easy it is to have those sitting next to you maybe even in church who might not be who they say they are. We didn’t continue our study group after that email that beautiful morning.
        So, yes, you are blessed to work where you do!

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s very sad; however, it’s all a part of the end times events. The scripture being misused and misinterpreted because we heap unto ourselves so many different teaches, because we have “itching ears.” We want to hear whatever it is that tickles those itching ears!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

