Lest We Become Self-righteous 

Reading this today humbled me. How easily we can be self righteous without even realizing it.   I  know this morning the Lord revealed to me that ‘just maybe’, when I start even thinking the following. 

Thank you Lord that You opened my eyes to see that going out and doing this or that is wrong.  Thank You Lord that I am not blind but I see.

So, what is wrong with the above statement?   On the surface nothing because I am thankful that I am not as blind as I  once was BUT, I  must be very careful or that can so easily become a self righteous attitude.   Dear Lord God,  please continue to give me Your mercy and grace.   Help me Lord not to cross the line from thankfulness to self righteousness.   Help me to always remember ‘but without the grace of God there go I’.

Deuteronomy 9:4-6
After the Lord your God has driven them out before you, do not say to yourself, “The Lord has brought me here to take possession of this land because of my righteousness.” No, it is on account of the wickedness of these nations that the Lord is going to drive them out before you.  It is not because of your righteousness or your integrity that you are going in to take possession of their land; but on account of the wickedness of these nations, the Lord your God will drive them out before you, to accomplish what he swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.  Understand, then, that it is not because of your righteousness that the Lord your God is giving you this good land to possess, for you are a stiff-necked people.


COMMENTARY 

It was not because of Israel’s righteousness that they entered into the promised land, and it is not because of our righteousness that we have salvation from sin. This is a foreshadowing of the fullness and completeness of all things in Christ Jesus. God provides the sacrifice to Abraham, as he nears sacrificing his own son Isaac (a test of faith from God). Likewise, God provides the perfect sacrifice for our sins; once and for all in Christ Jesus His son. Lord God, thank you for saving us! I pray we surrender our lives to you fully, and delight in you always!

Verse/Commentary courtesy of ‘Verse-A-Day’ android app.

http://www.verse-a-day.com/Apps

One thought on “Lest We Become Self-righteous 

Leave a Reply

