My Father Is…..

John 8:42-47
Jesus said unto them, If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sent me. Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word. Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it. And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not. Which of you convinceth me of sin? And if I say the truth, why do ye not believe me? He that is of God heareth God’s words: ye therefore hear them not, because ye are not of God.

COMMENTARY 

In verses 31-32 Jesus says, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” Jesus is addressing Jews who have believed Him, yet knowing their hearts He clarifies that they need to be set free. His audience is having a difficult time understanding why they need to be set free. Jesus responds that everyone who sins is a slave to sin. He confront them more by saying, “You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desires.” Satan is in the business of twisting truth into lies and these folks are unable to see Jesus as the truth: the only way to God the Father. Holy Spirit, protect us from being unable to hear the truth. Reveal to us any corrupt allegiance that we have to evil, and let the light of Christ illuminate our hearts.

Verse/Commentary courtesy of ‘Verse-A-Day’ android app.

http://www.verse-a-day.com/Apps

Leave a Reply

